Re-discovering the library

I am an admitted book addict. I can plow through a book ridiculously fast and the fact that I only have one bookshelf in my apartment is something that’s going to need to change in the near future (given that it’s double stacked already).

Last year, I got myself a library card from the Toronto Public Library. I will admit, I didn’t use it often and when I packed to move, I misplaced it until recently (it was in a bag, for the record). After successfully renewing it, I can safely say I’m back in the library game!

While I will continue to buy books that I want to hold a place of honour on my shelf (though nothing will displace my signed Brian Mulroney memoirs), there are a number of shorter reads that I’ll start to grab from the library. In the past, I would buy these books. But as I start to clamp down on my spending, the library is a logical next step (as long as I remember to return books…).

More than the books though, I love being able to use the Overdrive app on my iPad to download e-books. I’ve already finished one (Terry Fallis’ The High Road) and started another (Susan Cain’s Quiet). This week, the library also launched Hoopla, which allows for access to movies, TV shows and music. While I won’t be rushing out to cancel my Netflix membership any time soon, it’s a nice extra feature to have!

The point of this  blog? Check out the library. It’s pretty awesome.

Leave a comment