Kitchen Adventures: Making “Fried” Chicken

After looking through the stats for my blog, you all like when I write about food. So, while I assure you that I’ll continue to write about other topics, I’ll throw in regular doses of my cooking adventures as well.

Tonight, I decided to make “fried” chicken. The recipe originally comes out of a cookbook I helped promote in my last job. The recipes are from the Dietitans of Canada and are healthy. Both my roommate and I have enjoyed the Baked Fried Chicken – it’s relatively cheap, it’s filling and it’s delicious.

(I apologize that the photo is upside down – but it doesn’t change anything. This is what it looks like after 25 minutes in the oven)

I don’t use the recipe anymore, I just wing it. I use chicken thighs (with skin on, and with bones – I found it got better results than the boneless, skinless thighs).

Here’s what I use for the batter:

  • White flour (about two cups for four chicken thighs)
  • Dill (to taste – I use lots)
  • Paprika (be very liberal with this)
  • Onion powder (just a little bit)
  • Seasoning salt
  • Pepper

Mix the batter in a large, shallow bowl. Unfold the thighs and coat liberally. I cook the thighs at 350° for 25 minutes, before flipping and cooking for another 15 (or until crispy). I find just lining a baking sheet with foil works for cooking this dish – it doesn’t need to be oiled or anything, as I’ve always found the chicken just slides off.

As for sides? Mashed potatoes go wonderful with this dish – simple, delicious comfort food!

If you try this, let me know what you thought!

Leave a comment